Town Crier Announces Honorary Citizens 2016

Crewkerne Town Crier David Craner announced the two successful nominees of this years’ Honorary Citizens Award at the Annual Town meeting of Electors in Victoria Hall. Martin Pakes, a trustee of ABCD and former chairman of Crewkerne Civic Society (now disbanded) was joined on the podium by Janet Harris, a volunteer administrator at Crewkerne & District Museum and Heritage Centre. Martin and Janet were presented with their framed certificates by the town’s Mayor, Councillor Robin Pailthorpe. Their names will also be recorded for posterity, on a roll of honour, in the council’s chamber at the town hall.

Crewkerne’s annual Citizen Award was created in 1997, to recognise the voluntary work and contributions made by members of the community that has brought the most benefit to Crewkerne and its citizens. To maintain the special status recognised by the award, it is limited to two worthy recipients each year.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :