Crewkerne Mayor, Councillor Robin Pailthorpe announced the successful nominees of this years’ Honorary Citizens Award at the Annual Town Meeting of Electors on Monday evening in Victoria Hall. Mayor, councillor Pailthorpe said: “In recognition of their outstanding contributions for the benefit of the town and its citizens, Colin Coggan and John Wyatt have been elected Honoured Citizens of Crewkerne this year.”

Colin Coggan lives in Crewkerne with his wife Val. He is a member of the management team at Crewkerne & District Museum & Heritage Centre, patron of CUDOS and serves on the executive committee of ABCD. Mr Coggan was also a member of the town’s Civic Society (now disbanded) and helped to raise a petition in 2010, with 5,000 signatories, to keep the Crewkerne Recycling Centre open. He is an active member of the community, who takes a keen interest in the issues and developments affecting the town and is a regular attendant at council meetings.

John Wyatt lives in Hewish. He is a former parish councillor of 35 years service for West Crewkerne, served on the Crewkerne & West Crewkerne Joint Burial Committee for 25 years and is an active member of the Rotary Club of Crewkerne. Mr Wyatt is a trustee of the Matthew Chubbs Almshouses in West Street and one of the trustees for the Parochial Church Council of the Ecclesiastical Parish of Crewkerne. As a founder member of the Crewkerne Young Farmers Club’s annual ploughing match, started in 1963, Mr Wyatt still enjoys taking part in the competition, when there is a senior veterans section.

Mr Coggan and Mr Wyatt have now had their names recorded for posterity, on a roll of honour, in the town council’s chamber at the town hall, where a civic reception was held for the two gentlemen, with the Mayor, town and district councillors and the town crier David Craner, before the annual meeting of electors took place upstairs in Victoria Hall.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :