Seven of Crewkerne’s town councillors, who stood for re-election in the Parish Elections on May 2nd, have been voted in for a four year term of office. The town council elections which took place on the same day as district council elections, resulted in Councillors Mike Best, Robin Pailthorpe, current Mayor, Kathy Head, Ben Hodgson, Andrea Stuart, Dan Wakeman and Charles Aslett retaining their seats on Crewkerne Town Council.

A turnout of 37.42% was recorded across the South Somerset district with around 47,916 votes cast overall. The returned town councillors all stood for the Liberal Democrat party with the exception of Conservative candidate Charles Aslett, who was first elected onto Crewkerne Town Council in the by-election in October 2018. Newly elected town councillors for Crewkerne are Robin Garfield Cottle, Jo Roundell Greene, Anthony Stephen Vaughan, Allan Barry Smith (who all stood for the Liberal Democrat party) and successful Green Party candidate Ben Hartshorn.

In the elections for the Crewkerne Ward of South Somerset District Council, councillors Mike Best, Ben Hodgson and Robin Pailthorpe, standing as Liberal Democrats received the highest number of votes, with councillor Mike Best taking the highest number of votes, 1239 and 19% of the Poll. The election results have given the Liberal Democrats overall control at South Somerset District Council and increased their hold on Crewkerne Town Council.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :